# NPESC's Business Advisory Council Annual Board Meeting Minutes NPESC Office, 4918 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 9:30 AM

Council Members:

- Carole Kuns, NPESC Board President
- Paul Lockwood, NPESC Board Vice-President
- Marianne Cheetham, NPESC Board Member
- Daryl Deering, NPESC Board Member & Schlessman Seed Co. Representative
- Jim Rinaldo, NPESC Board Member
- Douglas Crooks, NPESC Superintendent
- Andrea Smith, NPESC Assistant Superintendent
- Abbey Bemis, Erie County Economic Development Corporation
- Carol Knapp, Huron County Development Council
- Heather Horowitz, Norwalk Economic Development Corporation
- Jamie Beier Grant, Ottawa County Improvement Corporation
- Beth Hannam, Sandusky County Economic Development Corporation

I. Call to Order/Welcome & Introductions

II. Roll Call of Members:

Absent: Abbey Bemis and Carol Knapp

III. Introduction of Visitors: None present

IV. Motion to Approve Agenda as presented or with the following corrections or<br/>changes: Correct meeting dates on page 3Motion made by: C. KunsSecond by: M. CheethamAll in favor: 10Opposed: 0Motion passed

## V. Review of Ohio Revised Code 3313.82:

Under Ohio law, each school district and educational service center (ESC) must have a business advisory council. The law allows a district to enter an agreement with an ESC to have the ESC's business advisory council represent the businesses of the district. VI. Review of NPESC Business Advisory Council By-Laws and Plan

Motion to accept BAC By-laws and Plan as presented or with the followingcorrections or changes: Add electronic voting as a method of voting and addNorwalk Catholic to Huron district list.Motion by D. DeeringSecond by J. Rinaldo

All in favor: 10 Opposed: 0 Motion passed.

VII. Motion to accept Nominations for President (can nominate self or others):

Motion by C. Kuns Second by M. Cheetham

Doug Crooks Nominated by Paul Lockwood

All in favor: 10 Opposed: 0

VIII. Motion to accept Nominations for Vice- President (can nominate self or others):

Motion by P. LockwoodSecond by C. KunsJim Rinaldo Nominated by Daryl DeeringAll in favor: 10Opposed: 0

IX. Motion to accept Nominations for Secretary (can nominate self or others):

Motion by C. KunsSecond by M. CheethamAndrea Smith Nominated by Doug CrooksAll in favor: 10Opposed: 0

X. Motion to accept the slate of officers as presented for a one year term beginning October 17, 2018 and ending at the annual meeting held in September 2019.

President: Doug Crooks Vice President: Jim Rinaldo Secretary: Andrea Smith Motion by P. Lockwood All in favor: 10

Second by M. Cheetham Opposed: 0 Motion passed.

XI. NPESC Board Meeting Schedule:

December 19, 2018 at 9:30 AM @ 4918 Milan Road Office

March 20, 2019 at 9:30 AM @ 4918 Milan Road Office June 12, 2019 at 1:00 PM @ 4918 Milan Road Office \*Annual Meeting: September 18, 2019 2018 at 9:30 AM @ 4918 Milan Road Office

Motion to accept 2018-19 Meeting dates as presented:Motion by C. KunsSecond by: B. HannamAll in favor: 10Opposed: 0Motion passed.

## XII. Sub-Committee Reports:

Erie County BAC update provided by Andrea Smith Huron County BAC update provided by Heather Horowitz Ottawa County BAC update provided by Jamie Beier-Grant Sandusky County BAC update provided by Beth Hannam

### XIII. Other Business: None

### XIV. Open Discussion: None

XV. Adjourn

Motion by P. Lockwood	Second by: J. Rinaldo	
All in favor: 10	Opposed: 0	Motion passed.
Time: 10:55 AM		